This Lenten Season

household cleaner with rubber gloves bucket and sponge..

During this Lenten season I am doing the one thing I detest doing more than anything else. I will be working my way through my house and giving it a deep cleaning, boxing up everything that we don’t use and/or need, and I will be doing it all with joy.  At least I will be attempting to do it with joy and thanksgiving.

It might take me the entire 40-ish days to get my house where it ought to be, but once I am finished I will be glad that I have my house looking clean and happy to know that I was able to give boxes upon boxes of clothing, kitchen paraphernalia, and what not to those who need them more than we do.  We don’t need most of the stuff in my house and I will be glad to live a much simpler life with out so much clutter.

I am also reading a devotional entitled, “Bringing Lent Home with Mother Teresa: Prayers, Reflections, and Activities for Families.”  It’s not overly deep – unlike the things I’ve read in the past few years during Lent, but I love how it has something to talk about with your children everyday and suggestions for things that they can give up and do for others every single day. And if I can get my children involved in a devotional and more prayer it’s a great thing.

Peace and blessings to all of you!

Leave a Reply

