Happy New Year!!

georgia_cyclone3

I hope that everyone had a blessed Advent and Christmas. I did, but I’m so glad that it is over!!  The entire month of December was an emotional roller coaster for me. It included quick descents into sad, melancholy moods and very slow climbs into better moods which were quickly followed by near vertical descents all over again, with a few corkscrews thrown in.

Here’s a quick recap of December 2012…

1) Finished a MOPS craft that was nearly 4 years old.  Yay!!

20130103_105327Christmas Countdown Blocks

2) Printed, framed, and hung up our house rules.  Double Yay!!

20130103_105444

3) Hurt feelings between me and another friend….

4) The shooting at Sandy Hook Elementary that hit very close to home. No, I didn’t know anyone involved, but being a mum of two small children – one that is the same age as the victims, it was so easy to imagine that it could have just as easily have been my child or one of my friends’ children that day.

5) I found out that a guy I dated back in university who had a major influence on my life died several years ago. The strangest part of finding out about this was that he died on my husband’s birthday the year we married.

6) My maternal Grandmother died the next day. I love you Grandma and my hope is that you are in Heaven with our Heavenly Father praying for all of us who are still on this earthly plane.

471426_10151344158036071_1538361157_o

7) My Mum-in-law came to visit for a week.  This had its very good moments, but as when all family gets together it had it’s not so great moments as well.

8) Mike finally finished the shelf (stained, built, and hung) that he’s been talking about doing for the past 5 years.  Yay!!

9) I dedicated myself into holy slavery to Jesus.

And that’s a quick rehash of my wonderful December.  Amazingly, I kept my cool through it all and was able to find joy in everything that occurred.  Was I sad? Sure. But emotions (happiness, sadness, anger, fear, etc) are fleeting feelings. Joy is eternal and comes from our faith in God. As Christians we are called to be people of joy and to be always hopeful, trusting God during every event in our life. Is it difficult to find joy in all things?  Absolutely! Whenever you are down, something tragic happens, and what not my advice is simple. Take it to prayer, and offer it up to God.

“Consider it all joy, my brothers, when you encounter various trials, for you know that the testing of your faith produces perseverance. And let perseverance be perfect, so that you may be perfect and complete, lacking in nothing.”  –James 1:2-4

“Rejoice in hope, endure in affliction, persevere in prayer.” –Romans 12:12

“Rejoice in the Lord always. I shall say it again: rejoice! Your kindness should be known to all. The Lord is near. Have no anxiety at all, but in everything, by prayer and petition, with thanksgiving, make your requests known to God. Then the peace of God that surpasses all understanding will guard your hearts and minds in Christ Jesus.” –Philippians 4:4-7

Leave a Reply

