Meditations on the Our Father

Everyone knows The Our Father. Most of us (myself included) often just rattle this off very quickly and don’t really think about the words we are saying. It wasn’t until several years ago when I was able to go to weekly adoration of the Blessed Sacrament (if you don’t know what that is, I’ll have more on that later) that I began to think and meditate on the words.  While I sat with Jesus during this hour I began to read the catechism of the Church and I love the way it is set up. It begins with the Profession of Faith and breaks that down one line at a time and then it does the same for The Our Father.

Since this time I have tried to really meditate on the words whenever I say this and other prayers.  Most days the only time I have to spend large amounts of time meditating and praying are after everyone in my house has gone to bed. Last night I took about an hour to pray just one Our Father and I thought I’d share a bit of what such a meditation is like for me.

Our Father

Father, Dad, Daddy, Abba…. You are our God, our Father, our Creator. Even though you may be God you are approachable and wish to have a relationship with us. I know that I can turn to you for anything just as I can always go to my earthly father.

Who art in Heaven

You live in heaven and I hope to one day be with you. But before my journey here is done, please help me to love all of your creation – not just the humans but also all the animals, plants, the rocks, water, stars, planets, and more. Once there was a time when I was very connected with nature and all of your creation, please help me to attain that connection again. I hope that I can express to my children the great love you have for us and all of your creation and that one day when our journeys on earth are over that we will be able to walk with you and all of those who have come before us and be able to continue the work you have set for us. I know that you have a job for each of us here on earth, and once we reach our home with you and join the communion of saints that our work will continue.

Hallowed be Thy Name

Holy is your name.  Your name is unknowable; it is sacred, holy and a mystery. Just as many things about you and our world they are a mystery and we must take that leap of faith and trust you.

Thy Kingdom Come, Thy Will be Done

On Earth as it is in Heaven

Father, please come and heal the wounds of our world. We have gone astray and most people are living in and for the world. People are putting their trust and faith in the latest gadgets and other worldly goods and have all but forgotten you. Many say that we should only do our “religion thing” on Sunday while at Church and not the rest of the week. Oh how far we’ve strayed! Help me to recognize and to live according to your will and to show others the way by being an example in this world.

Give us this day our Daily Bread

This line use to always confuse me Father. As a child I always felt as if I was just saying the same thing twice and I would just gloss over it. After reading several articles and books I came to know that the word “daily” is translated from the Greek word epiousios. It is only used once in any surviving manuscript and that is in the Greek version of Saint Matthew’s Gospel and it’s meaning has been the source of many debates throughout history. The early Church Fathers used the definition of super-substantial or super-essential. So this line should be rendered ‘Give us this day our Super-substantial Bread.’ (CCC 2837) The Bread of life, the Eucharist, the Body of Christ, the source and summit of our faith. Father, even if I am unable to partake of the Lamb’s Supper everyday please allow me to receive you through spiritual communion so that Christ may dwell in me and I in Him.

And Forgive Us Our Trespasses, As We Forgive Those Who Have Trespassed Against Us,

Or as I sometimes like to say, “forgive us our sins, as we forgive those who have sinned against us.” Father, help me to be quick to forgive others for any and all slights they have done. Forgiveness is a very difficult thing for me at times. It’s always so much easier to blame others for their shortcomings than to see my own. I’m not perfect nor is anyone else. If I want to be forgiven for my errors than I must first ‘man-up’ and be able to forgive others. Oh my Jesus, forgive us our sins, save us from the fires of Hell, and lead ALL souls to Heaven, especially those in most need of Thy mercy. Amen.

And Lead Us Not Into Temptation,

But Deliver Us From Evil.

Father, please save me from all the evil in this world. Give me the strength and the courage to not give into the things that tempt me every day. I know that I won’t always succeed. I’m not perfect….far from it. I fall into the mud puddles of sin just as much as everyone else, but I pray that each day I get better at navigating around them and end each day cleaner than I did the last.

Leave a Reply

