Doctor Who

I am a huge Doctor Who fan. Let’s just say that there are many people who know me who would go so far as to say that I am a fanatic. I see you nodding your heads on the other side of this computer screen.

My fascination with the Doctor began while I was on maternity leave in 2008 (which has turned into my being a sahm) and I was flipping channels trying to find something worth watching in the middle of the day. And then I came across a Doctor Who marathon on the Sci-Fi Channel. The Doctor was being played by Eccleston and the episode was “The End of the World.”  I hope it’s not über sad that I can still remember that.

Since then I have watched all the new Who series, and have watched a lot of the classic series. My husband has been buying me the dvds of classic Who starting with Hartnell and working our way from episode 1 ’till the end of the original series. I’ve watched all the Hartnell ones that they have out on dvd and we are working our way through Troughton. Sadly, we haven’t been watching them as much as we had been. Life with two young children has slowed down our viewing time. On the upside, my daughter can identify when it’s the Doctor no matter who it is and my son is quickly learning! =)

We might have slowed down our viewing of our dvds, but I live in the best place in the world for Doctor Who. Our local PBS channel is the only station here in the States that still airs classic Who (and might be the only one in the world). It’s one of many reasons why I love living here in the Seattle area.

I have enjoyed watching episodes from all of the Doctor’s, even the silly TV movie that the 8th Doctor is in. Sure I have my favourites. And this Saturday, one of the best Doctor’s (at least in my humble opinion) will be returning to the small screen. So if anyone is trying to reach me this Saturday, I’m sorry. I have a date with the Doctor and his magnificent TARDIS.

One thought on “Doctor Who

  1. Mandi says:

    I still remember my first Doctor Who episode…Lasurus Project w/ Tennant. Also during a marathon in 2008. 🙂

Leave a Reply

