I Just Returned from this year’s MOPs Convention

This past weekend I was in Dallas, TX attending the MOPs convention. I had an amazing time and had several God moments. Honestly it felt more like God took a cattle prod to me multiple times.

In my very first workshop, “Fear to Faith” the speaker kept saying, “…there are several books in this room that need to be written.” Any of you who know me know that I had a book idea about four years ago. What you don’t know is that I’ve had three others since then and a Bible study to write.

In one of our General Sessions we had a couple, the Gelinus’, who spoke about their family. During this talk I was hit with the cattle prod to continue discerning when the right time would be to begin getting my family’s life ready for the possibility of adopting a child. Those were just the first two instances that I was hit with those reminders. Throughout the weekend I continued to be poked and prodded on these two subjects.

While I was there, one of my dear friends was on my heart almost constantly. She is going through some very difficult moment in life right now and I just want to shower her with love. I’ll be doing that as soon as I get to see her. A part of me feels called to do something for her that will lead to something amazing in her life. Does that make any sense? I know I cannot fix anything, and yet I feel as if I need to do something amazing for her. Now to just sit back and see what God has in store for her and for me.

I did not attend this convention alone. Far from it. I went with nine other amazing, amazing women. We come from all walks of life and yet I feel so close to them right now that I feel as I could let them into the darkest parts of my soul and they would still love me. I thank them all for sharing parts of themselves that I know are hard to get out there. It is at those moments when we are at our most vulnerable and sharing something so raw that somehow bring us closer together. If any of you ladies are reading this please know that I love you.

It is going to take me a few days to decompress and get back into the swing of everyday life so updates may be sparse.

Leave a Reply

